University in the city:
Our Tyumen
Artifacts

Curious Facts

In Tyumen, crafts came early. In the early 19th century, Tyumen reached one of the leading positions in leather manufacturing. Red and black yuft (a sort of soft tanned leather) from Tyumen was highly valued in Central Asia and in China.   

283728_original.jpg

In 1804, the city also had a glue factory, four lard factories and three soap factories. Bulk orders of Tyumen adhesives were shipped to France, while lard was shipped to England. The town of Ishim produced butter for customers in Russia and abroad.

In 1836, the first Siberian steamer was launched on the river in Tyumen. Soon, the city became one of Russia’s largest river shipbuilding bases. 

0_bf3d7_f95a752b_orig.jpg

The Tyumen Slovtsov Museum Complex has a unique object in the collection – the Ostrog Bible. It is the first Cyrillic printed Bible, published in 1581 in Ostrog by the Russian first printer Ivan Fedorov. Other copies of this book are in collections of the Oxford library and the Vatican Library. Swedish king Gustav Adolf, Cardinal Barberini, and many scientists and public figures of Ivan Fedorov’s era had a copy of this book.

Retail weighing scales under the brand “Tyumen” were highly popular in the USSR. The instrument-making plant started their production in 1959. Those scales were also exported and can be found in Africa and Indonesia. Today, owners of small grocery shops are in no hurry to acquire electronic scales, and still prefer “Tyumen” because they are reliable, stable, and do not need power supply.  

1414011336_2705.jpg

During the Great Patriotic War, Tyumen was the only city in the USSR to produce torpedo boats. 

The biggest in Russia mammoth skeleton one can see at the Tyumen “City Council” Regional Museum. In 1885, the well-known Siberian researcher Ivan Slovtsov found it in the Reshetnikovo village near the city. In total, Russia has about a dozen preserved mammoth skeletons, and Tyumen’s one is the highest and one of the oldest

mamont.jpg

A large number of shark’s teeth is kept in the Tyumen Regional Museum, and they were all found at the territory of the Tyumen region. It would seem enigmatic why shark’s teeth were found in a place that has no conditions for their habitat. The answer is simple: 25 million years ago the sea covered the Tyumen region. 


Back to main page OUR TYUMEN

Университет в городе:
Наша Тюмень
Артефакты
Артефакты

История Тюмени, как и любого другого города, уникальна

Вот несколько исторических особенностей Тюмени.

В начале 19 века по выделке кож Тюмень вышла на одно из первых мест в мире по производительности. Красную и черную тюменскую юфть (сорт мягкой дубленой кожи) высоко ценили в Средней Азии и Китае.

283728_original.jpg

В 1804 году в городе действовали также клееваренный, четыре салотопенных и три мыловаренных завода. Тюменский клей большими партиями отправлялся во Францию, а англичане довольствовались тюменским салом. В Ишиме производилось сливочное масло, которое любили и покупали не только в России, но и заграницей.

В 1836 году в Тюмени был спущен на реку первый в Сибири пароход. Вскоре город становится одной из крупнейших в России баз речного судостроения.

0_bf3d7_f95a752b_orig.jpg

Уникальная вещь хранится в тюменском Музейном комплексе им. И.Я. Словцова. Речь идет об «Острожской Библии». Это первая печатная кириллическая Библия, выпущенная в 1581 году в Остроге русским первопечатником Иваном Федоровым.  Книга также содержится в Оксфордской библиотеке, есть в библиотеке Папы Римского. Ее экземплярами владели шведский король Густав Адольф, кардинал Барберини, многие ученые и общественные деятели эпохи Ивана Фёдорова.

Большую славу в СССР приобрели весы «Тюмень», которые стали выпускаться в 1959 году приборостроительным заводом. Весы оказались даже заграницей, в Африке и Индонезии. Сейчас владельцы небольших продуктовых магазинчиков не спешат обзаводиться электронными весами, а отдают предпочтение весам «Тюмень», ведь они надежны, устойчивы и не нуждаются в электропитании.

1414011336_2705.jpg

В годы Великой Отечественной войны Тюмень являлась единственным городом СССР, в котором выпускали торпедные катера.

Самый большой в России скелет мамонта можно увидеть в Тюменском областном краеведческом музее «Городская Дума». В 1885 году недалеко от города, в деревне Решетниково, его нашел Иван Словцов, известный сибирский исследователь. Всего в России около десятка сохранившихся скелетов мамонтов, тюменский – самый высокий и один из старейших.

mamont.jpg

Большое количество акульих зубов хранится в тюменском краеведческом музее, причем найдены они на территории Тюменской области. Казалось бы, откуда им взяться здесь, где нет условий для обитания этих животных? Ответ прост: 25 миллионов лет назад Тюменскую область покрывало море.