University in the city:
Our Tyumen
Peoples

Tyumen is the city associated with many famous people 

Due to its unique geographical position, for a long time Tyumen was a transit point on the way fr om West to East. 

5552360-1000-1451029936-2B2B.jpg

World famous German physician and botanist Georg Wilhelm Steller ended his days in Tyumen in 1746. Now there is a monument dedicated to Steller in our city.


Great Russian short story writer Anton Chekhov, during his journey to Sakhalin, stayed in Ishim in 1890. In his notes From Siberia Chekhov depicted his vivid impressions of the route devoid of any amenities. 


Various scientists, such as A. Humboldt, P. Kropotkin, N. Przhevalsky, K. Nosilov etc., came to Tyumen to explore Siberia.


The Tyumen region is a homeland of many world famous people.


Dmitri Mendeleev, the brilliant Russian chemist who invented the periodic table of chemical elements, was born in Tobolsk in 1834. During his life he wrote more than 1500 scientific works. He gave a start to the research of hydrocarbon fields and the chemical composition of oil. Also, Mendeleev stands behind the creation of the first icebreaker in the world. 


64997736.jpeg

Well-known composer, pianist and conductor Alexander Alyabyev was born in Tobolsk in 1787. He wrote about 200 songs, 7 operas, 20 musical comedies and a variety of other musical compositions. His best works are The Nightingale, a song based on a poem by Anton Delvig, Winter Way and Two Ravens, based on Pushkin’s poetry. 

Russian painter Vasily Perov was born in Tobolsk in 1833. One can find almost all his works at the State Tretyakov Gallery and the State Russian Museum.

perov11.jpg

Writer Mikhail Prishvin, famous for his poetic description of nature, studied in Tyumen.

Pyotr Yershov wrote his legendary fairy-tale poem The Little Humpbacked Horse in Tobolsk in 1845. The poet and fairy-tale writer contributed to the development of the regional education system. Due to his initiative, the first schools and colleges for women were opened in Tyumen, Kurgan, and Ishim.

26.jpg

Grigori Rasputin, a trusted friend of the family of Nicholas II, was born in a village Pokrovskoe situated not so far from Tyumen. Today there is a private museum in his house which was visited by lots of historians, politicians, journalists and even members of a famous band Boney M – creators of the song Rasputin, super popular in the 1970s.

In the 19th century Tobolsk and Yalutorovsk were places of exile for the nobility rebels Decembrists. The most famous among them were the author of the comedy The Minor Denis Fonvizin, Romantic poet and writer Wilhelm Kuchelbecker, Muravyov-Apostol, the leader of the Decembrists Eugene Obolensky, poet Alexander Odoevsky, and a friend of Puskin Ivan Pushchin.  

927370_original.jpg

The Emperor Nicolas II and his family were exiled to Tobolsk in 1917. On the way to the place of imprisonment they made a stop in Tyumen on the railway station Tura. Before being sent to Yekaterinburg and executed, the royal family lived in Tobolsk for almost a year

1405547192_5354a8590a02.png


In 1930, a talented soviet singer Yury Gulyayev was born in Tyumen.

During the Great Patriotic War, the body of Vladimir Lenin was evacuated from the Mausoleum and delivered to Tyumen, wh ere it was stored in the building of the Tyumen State Agricultural Academy.

Mayor of Moscow Sergey Sobyanin was born in the Tyumen region in 1958 and was a governor of the region in 2001-2005.

Tyumen is said to be a city of the most beautiful women. Tyumen model Ksenia Sukhinova became Miss World 2008. Earlier, she was named the most beautiful girl of Tyumen and won the title Miss Russia.  

98709b7a161be56ff3c8dd7edb02d279.jpg

Two famous scientists, PhD Yury Sukhovey and academician Vladimir Melnikov, live in Tyumen. They both specialize in permafrost bacteria. Vladimir Melnikov is the head of the UT Cryosophy department


Back to main page OUR TYUMEN

Университет в городе:
Наша Тюмень
Люди

С Тюменью неразрывно связаны судьбы многих исследователей и ученых

Благодаря своей географии, город долгое время являлся перевалочным пунктом для путешественников, двигающихся с запада на восток. 

5552360-1000-1451029936-2B2B.jpg


Ученый с мировым именем, немецкий врач и естествоиспытатель Георг Вильгельм Стеллер в ходе своих путешествий и исследований обрел в Тюмени свой второй дом. Здесь же он и окончил свой земной путь в 1746 году. В Тюмени ученому установлен памятник. 


Писатель Антон Павлович Чехов во время путешествия на Сахалин останавливался в 1890 году в Ишиме. В его очерке «Из Сибири» сохранились яркие впечатления автора о лишенном всяких удобств пути.


Тюмень видела многих исследователей, которые ехали в Сибирь с научными целями: А. Гумбольдта, П.А. Кропоткина, Н.М. Пржевальского, К.Д. Носилова и других. 

Также Тюменская область является родиной знаменитых во всем мире людей. 

Дмитрий Иванович Менделеев, гениальный русский химик, создатель периодической системы химических элементов, родился в 1834 году в Тобольске. Ученый оставил более 1500 трудов. Химический состав нефти и принципы ее залегания впервые стали изучать под его руководством. Также Дмитрий Иванович, желая изучить Северный морской путь, стоял у истоков создания первого ледокола в мире.

64997736.jpeg

Александр Александрович Алябьев, композитор, пианист, дирижер родился в 1787 году в Тобольске. Музыкант написал около 200 романсов, 7 опер, 20 комедий и большое количество других музыкальных произведений. Одни из лучших произведений: романс «Соловей» на слова Дельвига, «Зимняя дорога», «Два ворона» на стихи Пушкина.

Живописец Василий Григорьевич Перов родился в Тобольске в 1833 году. Большая часть работ художника хранится в Третьяковской галерее и Русском музее.

perov11.jpg

В Тюмени учился писатель, певец природы М.М. Пришвин.

Легендарный «Конек-Горбунок» был создан Петром Павловичем Ершовым в 1845 году в Тобольске. Поэт-сказочник Ершов внес большой вклад в развитие образования Тобольской губернии. По его инициативе в Тюмени, Кургане и Ишиме были открыты первые женские школы и училища.

26.jpg

Друг семьи Николая II Григорий Распутин родился недалеко от Тюмени в селе Покровское. В настоящее время в селе создан частный музей, который посетили многие историки, политики, журналисты со всего мира. Даже легендарная группа «Boney M», спевшая в 70-х хит «Rasputin», также побывала на родине этого загадочного человека.

Тобольск и Ялуторовск во второй половине 19 века стали местом ссылки декабристов – участников российского дворянского общества. Одни из самых известных декабристов: автор комедии «Недоросль» Денис Иванович Фонвизин, поэт и прозаик Кюхельбекер, Муравьев-Апостол, фактический руководитель декабристского движения Евгений Петрович Оболенский, Поэт Александр Иванович Одоевский, друг Пушкина Иван Иванович Пущин.

927370_original.jpg

Император Николай II и его семья были сосланы в Тобольск в 1917 году. По пути к месту ссылки император останавливался в городе Тюмени на железнодорожной станции Тура, что на улице Пристанской. В Тобольске царская семья прожила почти год, затем была отправлена в Екатеринбург, где и закончился их жизненный путь.  

1405547192_5354a8590a02.png

В годы Великой Отечественной войны в Тюмени, в здании Сельхозтезникума хранилось тело В.И. Ленина, эвакуированное из Мавзолея во время наступления немецких войск на Москву.

Выдающийся советский эстрадный певец Юрий Александрович Гуляев родился в 1930 году в Тюмени.

Мэр Москвы Сергей Семенович Собянин родился в 1958 году в Тюменской области и с 2001 по 2005 занимал пост губернатора региона.

Не зря говорят, что в Тюмени живут самые красивые девушки. Тюменка Ксения Сухинова стала обладательницей титула «Мисс Мира-2008» на 58-м международном конкурсе красоты в Йоханнесбурге. Ранее Ксения была названа самой красивой девушкой Тюмени, а затем завоевала титул «Мисс Россия».

98709b7a161be56ff3c8dd7edb02d279.jpg

В Тюмени проживают два ученых с мировым именем – доктор Юрий Суховей и академик Владимир Мельников. Оба специализируются на изучении деятельности бактерий, найденных в «вечной мерзлоте». Владимир Мельников возглавляет кафедру криософии ТюмГУ.